Installing CSS Friendly Adapters

Jan 7, 2010 at 10:47 AM

I am relatively new to Visual Studio 2005 and am interested in the CSS Friendly Adapters.

I am having a problem in understanding the installation process of this great product.

http://www.asp.net/cssadapters/WalkThru/WalkThrough.aspx#SimpleMenu has detailed instructions on how to install the css adapters. However, the instructions appear out of date as the first instruction of clicking the "download source" button shows that you get the windows file download screen asking if you want to download or save the file. This is now incorrect, as (at the time of writing) you are taken to another web page: http://www.codeplex.com/cssfriendly. This page has a number of options of downloading. Not really knowing what to do I chose 2 of the download options.

The first option I chose was a button on the right-hand side of the screen with "Recommended release: 1.0 Production Mon Mar 5 2007 at 8:00 AM<abbr></abbr>  11 ratings 119837 downloads, 6 reviews". This downloads CSSFriendly_1[1].0.zip on to your PC. Unzipping this file loads up 2 folders and 4 files: CSSFriendly folder with lots of files; Web folder with more folders and files; CSSFriendly.sln; CSSFriendly.suo; CSSFriendly.vssscc and readme.txt (which does not help me at all).

The Second Option I chose was clicking on the "Releases tab" link within the following paragraph

• Go to the Releases tab. You should see three prominent links to files. The zip file contains the source code, the CSSFriendly.dll file contains the compiled source code, and the the CSSFriendlyAdapters.browser file is a configuration file. You only need the dll and browser files.